Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 14th, 2010

It’s *growing*!

Apparently the seeds are a lot happier this time around. They are sown in a layer of coir over compost (the compost to make sure they have nutrients available in case I miss a seedling for a bit – they shouldn’t starve this way) and have not seen so much as a drop since the initial watering.

Today I’ve potted up 1 Red Robin, 1 Tigerella and 1 seedling of unknown variety.
When I was trying to figure out what had gone wrong I dug out the cells that had seeds and put the compost into empty ones as I removed it. Well, one of those unlabeled cells of discarded soil has produced a shoot. It could be a Greyhound cabbage, Red Robin tomato or PattyPan squash – but as I’ve never sprouted any of these things before – I really have no idea which it might be. Fun!

Last weekend I spent a bit of time on the plot. Recently I’ve usually there alone, but Sam came this time and was a huge help. We’ve sown up almost a full bed (the second of 8 ) with potatoes, 3 varieties of carrot, a single fennel, some parsnips, some Matador spinach, 3 varieties of onion and one spring onion.
With her supervision I was able to get plenty more done too.

I’ve pulled up about 15 miles of mint roots that were spreading out from the patch I’ve inherited (and intend to keep), pulled out a fair few weeds, become a wee bit disheartened about the vast number of horsetail poking through the top of the small pile of manure and soil I need to shift and am generally starting to get more on top of things.

More news on the seeds and seedlings as the story develops.

Read Full Post »