Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 16th, 2010

I’ve just counted up my seed potatoes… apparently I have a few more than I thought I did.

So far I’ve got the following:
Rocket (First Early)
Maris Peer (Second Early)
Sarpo Mira (Late Maincrop)

In addition I have 10 tubers each of the following:
Record (First Early)
Pink Fir Apple (Maincrop salad)
Salad Blue (Maincrop salad)
Golden Wonder (Maincrop – and about as floury as they come)

In total it comes to 129 seed potatoes and up until counting, I had intended to get an Early (I think it was Early, anyway) Maincrop variety too! I had a couple of likely candidates and a firm favourite which was the main spud I wanted to grow this year but with enough seed to plant a full quarter of my beds with nothing but spuds I don’t think I’ve got room for another 20 to 30 tubers… at this rate everyone I know will be eating spuds three times a day!

One of my neighbouring plotholders told me that a good crop might see 10 spuds under each plant… so far that gets me 1,290 potatoes! (not accounting  for blight, slugs, drought and any number of other disasters that might come about) It seems a huge amount to me at the moment, but in reality I have no clue how many we get through in a year. It could well be that we’ll run out before Christmas (though I’ll probably hold some back – I’d like the non-meat parts of Christmas Dinner to be entirely home-grown if possible) but equally we could still be eating them come next spring. I really don’t know.

Whatever happens though, I’m really looking forwards to getting the things in the ground and getting on with some other jobs… of which I have many.

Read Full Post »